Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | April 29, 2011

April 29, 1846

Mary Brewster, WEDNESDAY APRIL 29th, [1846]: “At 6 this morning was up and dressed. Soon after breakfast Mr. Brewster went ashore. Cap/ Bottum called and bid us good-bye expecting to see us again. At 10 ship Cabinet underway and out of the harbor bound to the north-west. At 2 PM I went ashore and dined at Mr. Calkin’s the consular agent. Mrs. Calkin appeared very well and very happy to see and have company. A number of Captains took dinner with us all lively and sociable. Capt. Pendleton of the Charles Phelps who left on account of this health called to see me with an invitation to tea from Dr. Winslow.  At 4 I left Mrs. Calkin’s who would not say I could go and with Capt. P and William were soon at the Doctor’s where I found quite a company, mostly missionaries who are bound to general meeting at Honolulu at which place they meet once in two years. The ladies were all agreeable and I enjoyed the visit very much. Mrs. Winslow appeared much like a lady and very intelligent. We did not have tea till dark so husband was obliged to leave and go on board of the ship having some business to attend to. I stayed till 10, then returned with Capt. Pendleton to Mrs. Calkin’s  where I had promised to stop the night. We set up till 12 and then retired for the night.”

Martha Brown (1848), Mary Lawrence(1857), and Eliza Williams (1859) did not make journal entries for this date.


Leave a comment

Categories