Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | August 18, 2014

18th August 1849

Mary Brewster, SATURDAY August 18th [1849]: “Commenced with light southerly winds and fine weather, close in with the land. Mountains are beginning to be covered with snow. We are again wending our way north — Capt. Chappel [probably William of ship John & Elizabeth] in company with us — Saw several ships. At 10, thick weather wind from N and a bad swell.   LAT. 61.29   LONG. 170.16.”

***************

Mary Lawrence’s husband’s ship, the Addison arrived at her homeport of New Bedford, MA at sunrise on June 14, 1860

Responses

  1. Dear Karlee, Hello,  I met you very briefly at the Charles Morgan when they were docked on Martha’s Vineyard. We spoke for a few minutes and you told me about your blog.  I was writing up a theatre piece to do with my students on Whaling Wives.  I have researched your blog it is very fun and informative.  I want to know if it is OK to use some of the information in my introduction to the students?  It is not for publication and all credit will be given to your words.  Let me know when you can.  Thanks for your help.  All my best.  Phyllis Vecchia

    • Hi Phyllis: I do remember you from Martha’s Vineyard and I’m flattered that you want to use information from my blog. My sole purpose when setting up my blog four years ago was for education; very glad you’re using it in that manner. In the past I have had college professors utilize my blog for homework and/or writing assignments. But this is the first I am aware it has been used for a theatre script. Will the theater piece be used in class or as a special performance for their friends and families? When and where are they are they going to perform it? Yes, you may use my words. Please make mention or make a note with the address for my WordPress blog, as well. I do keep an eye on my visitor stats and it’s always rewarding to see them increase, temporarily and long-term. Best wishes for your endeavor. Karlee


Leave a Reply

Categories

