Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | August 6, 2014

5th August 1849

Mary Brewster, SUNDAY AUGUST 5th [1849]: “Thick most of this day. I have been alone. Mr. B. went on board the Catherine [home port of New London, CT]. Two other ships in company so they have had a fine gam. I have read and passed the day as pleasantly as I could but I cannot help longing for some of the blessings of home and I am very much disappointed at having to stay out another season. I never was so anxious about anything before and I would never have encouraged our coming here had I not thought we should get oil enough to have gone home with. Well, it is of no use to fret or murmur; let what will come. I will try and make the best of it and think no more of seeing home till another year has passed with its troubles and trials and will try and be thankful that it is thus well with us.”

***************

Mary Lawrence’s husband’s ship, the Addison arrived at her homeport of New Bedford, MA at sunrise on June 14, 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

