Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | June 10, 2014

June 10, 1860

Mary Brewster did not make a journal entry for this date in 1849. Mary Brewster’s remaining journal entries for this month were made for June 15, 17; 21-27; 29-30.

***************

Mary Lawrence, [Sun.] June 10 [1860]: “The gale continues. We are under short sail and go first on one tack and then on the other but cannot carry sail enough to make much [distance]. We saw several outward bound ships yesterday going before it, and today we saw two like ourselves. This is real discouraging. It makes us all feel very badly to be so near home and making no headway, but probably it will all come out right at last. This is the Sabbath that we anticipated being at home. My books are all packed except my Bible, and even if they were not, I have read and reread all of them. It is unpleasant on deck, and I do not know what to do with myself. I lay down this forenoon to try to get a nap, but sleep would not come. After dinner I tried it again and was more successful, but I awoke with a headache and felt so stupid that I wished I had not attempted it. We have made 16 miles on our course the last twenty-four hours. “

Leave a Reply

Categories

