Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | July 22, 2013

July 22 [1848 and 1859]

Mary Brewster wrote on July 13, her first entry in several months, that during this voyage….”It is not my intention to keep a daily account during the passage as it is tedious and uninteresting….”  On July 22, 1848, she wrote: “Made the Island of Flores yesterday. The boat went ashore at a small settlement and returned by dark, a number of the inhabitants came off during the evening to trade — Got underway and came to Vera Cruz this morning when I availed myself the opportunity offered and went ashore. From the ship the place had a very pretty appearance but on landing it had all vanished and gloomy houses and narrow dirty streets and wretched looking beings in the midst following us was all we could see. The health officer asked us to his house and introduced me to his wife who could not speak a word of English but with her husband’s help we carried on some conversation. Went out and saw a little of the place. Went into one of their buildings where they worship. A large stone building with a tower of considerable height….The building was very ancient and very much our of repair….After viewing this ruinous old building we returned to the house where we had tea with bread and butter served and as it was getting late we took our departure quite pleased with my visit. They wished me to stay with them overnight but I excused myself as well as I could. A very pleasing invitation to come and spend the morrow with them was tendered, which [was refused] as I am sufficiently amused with this shore privilege and the Sabbath will be sufficient apology. At dark we got on board. We have a small portuguese boy who was very anxious to come with us and his mother seeming anxious to get him off her hands took him to wait upon me –“

Mary Lawrence, [Fri.] July 22 [1859]: “Made St. Lawrence Island [in the Bering Sea] this morning. Samuel intended going off Cape Bering first, but the wind hauled. We are headed now for King Island, where they have in times past made good cuts. I cannot think for a moment that Dame Fortune will permit us to leave the whaling grounds at the end of the season without one drop of oil. I exert all my powers to keep up the spirits of the captain and officers, and I really believe that they are in far better spirits then though Minnie and myself were not here. About 7 P.M. heard the cry of ‘There blows!’, but they proved to be humpbacks.”

Eliza Williams made sporadic journal entries during July 1861. She did not make a journal entry for this date.

Leave a Reply

Categories

