Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | January 18, 2013

January 18 [1848 and 1859]

Mary Brewster, TUESDAY JANUARY 18th [1848]: “Nearly calm most of the day with occasional squalls — the Lenox in sight and the other sail. I am completely tired with this light weather. It has been nothing but tack ship the last two weeks with the wind ahead or else calm. I have been very busy during the time in making shirts which work I have chosen because it is smooth. The Barque just past us having tacked ship and as I hear the sound ready about I’ll just stop and wait till we get a favorable wind.   LAT. 22.24.”

Mary Lawrence, [Tue.] JANUARY 18 [1859]: “Captain Week’s boats took a whale yesterday, which sunk. They anchored him and went back for him today, when they had the misfortune to find that the sharks had almost entirely devoured him. Samuel’s back being lame, I invited Mr. Crocker, our fourth officer, to take Minnie and myself on board the Scotland, which I assume he was happy to do.”

Eliza Williams did not make a journal entry for this date in 1861.

Leave a Reply

Categories

