Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | August 22, 2012

22 August [1847 and 1858]

Mary Brewster, SUNDAY AUGUST 22nd [1847]: “The ship which arrived last night is the Ontario from Sag Harbor; she is full. Capt. Greene sailed from home about the time we did. He has his wife who stopped the first season at Honolulu. I attended chapel this morning, a mournful feeling comes over me when the sabbath closes. The thoughts of the time which is so poorly spent, so different from what they should be. The reflection is by no means pleasing — I have been thinking how much of my time runs to waste, which I might employ in trying to benefit someone, The prayer goes up from my lips, teach me oh Lord, thy will to know, and may I try and do what good I can to my fellow creatures. I am truly grateful for such feelings, may I cherish them so they may never leave my bosom. Mr. Lindgren was here to tea. Wrote a letter to mother to go by the William Hamilton.

Mary Lawrence, [Sun.] AUGUST 23 [1858]: “Raised whales in the morning. Chased without success. Saw a bark cutting and a ship take a whale alongside. Eight ships in sight. P.M. Have been chasing whales all day and have taken nothing. Have seen them cutting in all around us. Sixteen ships in sight. We are further north today then we have yet been, nearly to Icy Cape. Our boats spoke the Sarah Sheafe today, Captain Loper; seven whales this season, one in advance of us.”

Eliza Williams did not make any journal entries from August 19-September 4, 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

