Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | July 17, 2012

17th July [1847 and 1858]

Mary Brewster, SATURDAY [July] 17th [1847]: “Nothing of much importance has occurred the past week. We have all got rested from our jaunt and feel none the worse for it — No ships in, the sperm whaler has left, she is to cruise for a short time and expects to be home in February –I wrote two long letters and sent them to Mother and hope they will reach her and give her some information relative to how I like journeying and how I am enjoying myself whilst absent from home.”

Mary Lawrence, [Sat.] JULY 17 [1858]: Got up this morning and was told to look out of the cabin window. Saw a strange ship had come in and anchored during the night. I inquired who it was and was told that it was the Marengo. ‘Well’, said I to myself, ‘I guess I shall have company today.’ So I went to work after breakfast to clean up my cabin and make things look as pleasant as possible. AS their boats were all out watering and whaling and we had one boat on the cranes, I invited Samuel to go on board and bring them to pass the day with us. He soon returned bringing Mrs. Skinner with him, but the captain was so much interested in looking out for whales that he could not accompany her just then. About noon the Omega and three black clippers, the Eliza F. Mason, the Gay Head, and the Speedwell, came in and anchored for water, so that there were four ladies in the bay. I was in hopes that Mrs. Gibbs would have come here, but she may have been on board the Eliza F. Mason. I should have looked her up if I had not had company, and I thought they might lay there all night; but while we were at tea, they got under way and came down across our stern and spoke us. He has given up all hopes of getting anything in the Arctic and is now bound south, either to Bristol Bay or the Okhotsk. I hope he may be successful, but I should be sorry for Samuel to leave this region now, as there have been a great many whales seen and they must be going north sometime or other. There have been a great many seen around us today, but they have been going with such rapidity that it was of but little use to have boats down, although we have had two and three down all day. Just before Captain and Mrs. Skinner left, Captain Sanborn came on board and reported that he had been fast to a whale but lost him. He also reports that there have been five whales taken in the Arctic.”

Eliza Williams did not make a journal entry for this date in 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

