Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | June 1, 2012

1st June [1847 and 1858]

Mary Brewster, TUESDAY JUNE 1st [1847]: “Arose early this morning and we have been employed in fixing the babies and amusing the girls who are quite lonesome when Charles is away. Mrs. Winslow has been sick most of the day with the headache. I went out with the children this afternoon so to have it quiet, found Mrs. Baldwin and family here when I returned, who made a short call. Mrs. Winslow retired before tea. We had just done when Doctor arrived quite unexpectedly and left Charley to make a visit. Received a note from Mrs. Whittlesey with kind invitation to visit Hana — As the Doctor and family are going I think I shall accompany them. This evening I have spent in my room reading the memoirs of Mrs. Hemans and I have been so much engaged in the book the evening has passed very rapidly it is nearly 11 o’clock all abed and still out-of-doors and within.”

Mary Lawrence, [Tues.] June 1 [1858]: “How I wish I could enjoy this month at home, by far the most pleasant of the year to me. Our little village at this time presents a delightful appearance to my imagination. The earth that a little while ago was barren and desolate has laid aside her mantle of snow and put on a robe of richest green. The trees that spread out their naked arms have adorned themselves with new foliage, while the whole air is fragrant with flowers and redolent with the songs of the birds. A thick fog still. Samuel went on board the Omega and took tea with Captain Sanborn.”

Eliza Williams did not make a journal entry for this date in 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

