Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | May 23, 2012

May 23 [1847 and 1858]

Mary Brewster SUNDAY MAY 23rd [1847]: “No meeting at the chapel. How I long to be once more where good preaching is heard and where I need not be confirmed to one place where worship is held. I read a number of chapters in the Bible and when completed can scarcely tell two words I have read. Got to sleep twice this afternoon. At 7, went out and took a walk to get waked up. How little I enjoy and keep this day of rest and improve it as I should. Oh for a warmer heart and more love more purity of feeling from what I daily feel and cultivate. I think every day & week shall be better improved and at the close I find I resolve and resolve and yet live the same. Lamentable thought –“

Mary Lawrence, [Sun.] May 23 [1858]: “Another whale belongs to the Addison. Took him alongside about two o’clock, and they are now engaged in cutting in. The Gay Head seems to engaged in the same manner. Sixteen ships in sight. Cold and rather cloudy, but very smooth. Yesterday we took a seal. The size of its surprised me very much, but I am told they are to be seen here very much larger. This was the size of a large dog. They are very ugly-looking creatures. I have seen many small ones.”

Eliza Williams did not make any journal entries between May 14-25, 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

