Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | April 26, 2012

26th April 1847

Mary Brewster, SUNDAY APRIL 26th [1847]: “Have been to chapel this forenoon. Mr. Forbes preached, a very good attendance. I was not particularly interested in the sermon. This afternoon wrote a letter to send home and one to send to my husband. Took a walk this evening with the Doctor [Baldwin] and wife to see a young man who was sick with the consumption. We found him very feeble and he thought he could not live long. I felt that it was good for me to visit the house of sickness and whilst looking at the young man the thought stole across my mind that soon death might call me for his own so may I be ready my work done here below and the Saviour to cheer me through the dark valley. It is well for me to turn aside from the world and its numerous objects and consider my ways which seem to be all sinful and try daily and hourly to cultivate good feelings towards all, with a spirit of love and charity. Oh for more purity of heart and a greater love for the Redeemer and Saviour of the world.”

Mary Lawrence did not make a journal entry for this date in 1858.

Eliza Williams did not make a journal entry for this date in 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

