Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | April 19, 2012

April 19, 1847

Mary Brewster, [Mon.] April 19th [1847]: “Capt. Hall called this morning and Charles Denison which brought home vividly to my mind, and the sad events which took place in our family when he was a member. I received two letters* only for which I am thankful but I did expect more out of such an abundance of friends and relations. I truly thought they would remember us one year if not more. All the friends were all well and I shall always remember with much love and affection those who think sufficient of me to write a letter occasionally. Mr. Philips called to see me knew me when I was a little girl I had forgotten him.”

*NOTE: As evidenced above, letters were a very important part; a highlight, of every whaling wife’s life. Letters acted as one of the few ways in which they were reminded of the love and care of family and friends who remained at home. Likewise, letters written to family and friends was a way for those on land to learn about the health, safety and understanding of their sister-sailors’ lives at sea.  Although letters could also have the opposite affect; to remind the whaling women all they missed because they were at sea.

Mary Lawrence did not make a journal entry for this date in 1858.

Eliza Williams did not make any journal entries from April 18-22, 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

