Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | April 7, 2012

April 7 [1847 and 1860]

Mary Brewster, WEDNESDAY [April] 7th [1847]: “With what feelings I take my pen to write a line or so. My dear hubsnad has gone [back to sea to continue whaling] and how lonely and sad I feel. Oh what is there which will fill this aching void, nothing but the presence of the dear object of my heart and affections. He truly is the bright star of my affections, the center of all my thoughts. We have not had to part before, whilst separated we were spared to each other. I pray God that we may not be forsaken now by Him but be protected from all harm and permit us once more to meet.”

Mary Lawrence did not make any journal entries from April 7-10, 1858.

Eliza Williams, [Sat.] April 7th [1860]: “It has been a very fine day with a strong breeze. It is a fair wind for us to go into the Japan Sea, and we are almost to the Straits. The rocks are now in sight. They are just this side of the Straits. There a quite a number of them and a small Island, called Hococo. The Bark Dromo is in sight.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

