Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | March 16, 2012

March 16 [1847,1858 and 1860]

Mary Brewster, TUESDAY [Mar.] 16th [1847]: “Fresh trades all day and rugged weather with now and then a rain squall which would last about 5 minutes which serves to enliven the scene. Anything for a change. I have never known a time since I have been to sea when such dull feelings were my constant companions as they have been since leaving the [Margarita] bay. I sometimes think it is warm weather, then again because I need more exercise, then again I owe it to sewing so steadily, but do not come to any definite conclusion upon the subject, we shall soon be at the [Sandwich] Islands where I think all such feelings will leave me and worse ones take their place; that is if I remain the coming season.   LAT. 21.19   LONG. 140.20.”

Mary Lawrence, [Tues.] MARCH 16 [1858]: “Last night we were awakened by the sound of  ‘The fire has burst through the outside of the ship!’ We got up and looked out of our window, which commanded the whole view of the harbor, and found it to be even so. It was a grand sight and still a very melancholy one. This morning it is burning with redoubled fury. As I sit by my window writing, looking up, I have seen the three masts fall one after the other, and now nothing remains but the hulk [or hull of the ship]. Minnie hs been in tears all of the morning. It makes her feel so sad to see the destruction of a noble ship. What would I give to know the feelings of the man or men who thus wantonly destroy her. Can it be possible that they are enjoying it? I think not. Captain and Mrs. Gibbs, Samuel, Minnie, and myself took tea with Mrs. Bishop this afternoon.” 

Eliza Williams, [Fri.] March 16th [1860]: “It has been a very unpleasant day. It has been raining very hard. I have been below all day, but William would not be pleasant below, so Father took him up three or four times when it did not rain so hard, for a few minutes. Mr. Morgan shot a Pigeon this afternoon. I am going to have it for my supper. There are pigeons in the Japan Sea. There has no work been going on today, but the usual work.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

