Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | March 7, 2012

March 7 [1847 and 1858]

Mary Brewster, SUNDAY [March] 7th [1847]: “Fresh breezes from NNE and rugged. Have felt some better today and think it is because the weather is cooler — As the Sabbaths pass it frequently comes to mind, here I am alone, away from the world and its fashions, nothing to take my thoughts from my Preserver and Protector and nothing to prevent me from trying to serve him. I have great reason to bless and adore Him and I feel that my affections are set too much on worldly objects. Oh God, give me the heart and disposition to love and adore Thee.”

Mary Lawrence, [Sun.] MARCH 7 [1858]: “Lay to a few hours in the morning waiting for daylight to go through the passage. Arrived off the harbor about nine o’clock. Soon the customhouse officer came on board and shortly after we anchored, making the thirteenth whaler in port. After dinner Samuel went onshore to get letters if any were to be found. I remained on board, as I did not care about going on ashore on the Sabbath. About four o’clock Samuel returned, bringing letters for Mr. Nickerson only. I was greatly disappointed, although I feared as much, as we were in several weeks earlier than we anticipated when leaving the Islands. He told me that Mr. and Mrs. Bigelow with Lizzie were impatiently awaiting our arrival….not caring to pass another day on shipboard when the pleasure of female society was proffered me and the meeting with friends whom I learned to love and respect, I speedily finished my preparations….Mrs. Bigelow’s … will be our home for several weeks….It seems very natural to stop at the old straw cottage again….After [this shipping season] Mr. and Mrs. Bigelow will leave for the States, where they intend to take up their abode, provided the change of climate will not be too much for them.”

Eliza Williams did not make a journal entry for this date in 1860.

Leave a Reply

Categories

