Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | February 15, 2012

15th February [1847, 1858 and 1860]

Mary Brewster, MONDAY [Feb.] 15th [1847]: “Calm and pleasant weather. Boats all off wooding on the Island. A boat’s crew stops and cut whilst the others are employed in fetching it in the boats. Saw whale blowing and plenty of fish jumping out of the water.”

Mary Lawrence, [Mon.] FEBRUARY 15 [1858]: “We are getting the last of the wood today and shall probably leave tonight. I went ashore in the afternoon and went to the missionary house. Both times when I have been ashore, I have been surrounded by a crowd of people, and they followed me to the house. They appeared to feel badly to have us to leave. They say ‘Plent ships come here, but you more better; plenty ship come here, no have wahine [wife], no have daughter.’ Natua says, ‘When you go, me cry. Captain all same fader, you all same my moder.’ About sunset we took the missionary on board to carry to Dominica and bade the people of Fatu Hiva farewell.”

Eliza Williams, [Wed.] February 15th [1860]: “It has been a beautiful day, quite squally in the night but we have had a fine breeze all day. This morning raised a Whale aloft. It spouted a number of times and all hands thought to be sure it was a Sperm Whale, but concluded after a while that it was not. I was in hopes that it was and that we might get him. I want something new to write about. I have nothing now but the same thing over and over, unless I give a description of our hog stock, which I might do if I felt much interested, for it is not to be sneezed at. We have about 40 little pigs since we left Ascension, and nice ones, too.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

