Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | February 2, 2012

February 2 [1847 and 1860]

Mary Brewster, TUESDAY [Feb.] 2nd [1847]: “Pleasant warm weather. We had just got a large pan of oysters on the table and prepared for a long job of eating when a boat came alongside. I retired in my room when down came Capt. Huzzy and the french Captain. They took my place and the Oysters did not last long. I thought they would expect to see me so I dressed up and in an hour walked out so prim friends at home would hardly [have] known me. I am sure they would have taken me for a maid had they seen me when I left the cabin at their approach.  Capt. Huzzy appeared very well; so did the other brother but he could not talk english and was dumb. At 9 they left. Alas upon enquiry oysters were ‘pau’ as the [Sandwich Island] natives say, which [means] is ended or gone –“

Mary Lawrence did not make a journal entry for this date in 1858.

Eliza Williams, [Thurs.] Febraury 2nd [1860]: “It is not a very pleasant morning. It looks rainy and bids fair for strong winds outside. We are now about to take our anchor. Have been on shore 9 days and enjoyed it very much, Have just returned to the Ship, bright and early, to take an early start. Capt. M. and his wife have just gone aboard their Ship. There is quite a swell in the Bay, indicating a heavy blow outside. The Ship is rolling some now and I must leave writing to put my things to rights before she rolls worse.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

