Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | January 31, 2012

January 31 [1847 and 1858]

Mary Brewster, SUNDAY JANUARY 31st [1847]: “Thick foggy weather this morning. At 10 cleared away. Have passed the day in my room blest with my husband’s society as he has much to do. Reading has been the occupation with some writing. Do not see much to take up my mind save the boats which are always passing from the ships and now and then a canoe of Spaniards who appear cheerful and happy.”

Mary Lawrence, [Sun.] JANUARY 31 [1858]: “We are favored today with a nice little breeze. supposed to be the trade winds. Have put up the studding sails this morning, and we are now making our way finely to Pitcairn Island, where we hope to get a sperm whale.”

Eliza Williams did not make any journal entries between Jan. 24-Feb. 1, 1860.

Responses

  1. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and excellent design.

    • That is my goal – to share little-known info about American history and make in interesting, too. I’m glad you’re enjoying it


Leave a Reply

Categories

