Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | January 4, 2012

4th January [1847, 1858 and 1860]

Mary Brewster, MONDAY [Jan.] 4th [1847]: “The boats are away by 5 in the morning. The noise at breakfast with the lowering away keeps me awake and I can seldom sleep much. I am up by 6, and sometimes have my breakfast at 8. Husband when he can come below and takes a cup of coffee with me and says he will henceforth when business will admit of it will eat his morning meal with me. At 12 boats brought another whale to the ship. (Laboard Boat, 30-barrel whale).”

Mary Lawrence, [Mon.] JANUARY 4 [1858]: “Still blowing a gale. Had the deadlights shut to the cabin windows, and I was obliged to take my work onto the bed. In the afternoon the gale abated. It was a famous day among the officers and crew for sewing. I imagine all the old clothes got a good mending on this day.”

Eliza Williams, [Wed.] January 4th [1860]: “It has been a very pleasant day, and we have had a fine breeze, all sail out and going right along. I am glad to have a breeze, it is so much more comfortable. The Baby likes to be on deck most all day. He goes all about the deck by taking hold of things but does not go alone yet. He seems afraid to venture. He will climb a good deal for such a little fellow. He doesn’t mind if Ship does roll. He goes to the top of the stairs alone, and we have to watch him quite narrow. He is a year old the 12th [January] and has 5 teeth.” 

Leave a Reply

Categories

