Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | November 2, 2011

November 2 [1846 and 1848]

Mary Brewster, MONDAY [Nov.] 2nd [1846]: “Calm with a bad sea on which is very disagreeable and keeps seasick feelings in operation. Saw a shoal of blackfish. Steward came to me this forenoon and shewed me some white cloth and asked me to cut him a jacket and put it together. In vain I pleaded ignorance. He though it would be done nice enough. So I took and cut it out and told him I would make it. So this uninteresting job will occupy my time till this week is out.   LAT. 31.44   LONG. 144.14.”

Martha Brown, Thursday [Nov.] 2 [1848]: “Today has been most lovely day, and for want of a woman I have been obliged to wash. Perhaps you will imagine by this time I do it all together, but with the accommodation here for washing, I have not, nor do I feel able. I have been obliged to go to bed several times today, before I got through and did not complete at last.  The boy was very good, or I do not know how I should got as far as through I did. I dressed him about 9, and did not take him off of the bed again but once until sundown (bless his little life). It is a dreadful time here to get anything done, there is so many sick, and reports says there has 14 died since yesterday morn. They have gone prepared or unprepared to meet their Judge — Solomon, Solomon thought.”

Mary Lawrence did not make a journal entry for this date in 1857.

Eliza Williams did not make any journal entries between Oct. 30 – Nov. 9, 1859.

Leave a Reply

Categories

