Posted by: Karlee A. Turner | October 29, 2011

October 29 [1846, 1848 and 1859]

Mary Brewster, THURSDAY [Oct.] 29 [1846]: “Commences with light airs and warm sultry weather. Middle and latter overcast. I have not felt well since leaving the [Hawaiian] Islands half seasick and indolent not because I would be but I cannot get the better of my feelings. I think it is the frequent changing climates, with the very warm weather. In a few days I think I shall get used to being at sea and we shall have cooler weather.   LAT. 30.28   LONG. 145.17.”

Martha Brown, Sunday [Oct.] 29 [1848]: “Another Sabbath has returned and passed, but still I am alone. I had hoped you would be [here] before today. There has [been] 15 or 20 ships arrived the past week, and I felt most assured the Lucy Ann would have been among the number. But no, I am again disappointed. Another week of anxiety has commenced. A little longer I must watch the avenue in vain, but hope is a sovereign balm. Were it not for that I should long ere this despaired. I am ever hoping for something — either the return of my husband, or my own return to my loved child and dear friends. And thus I suppose it will ever be, but I would not wish my hope to stop here but desire that hope, which is an anchor to the soul, bit sure and steadfast, entering into that within the vale. Our babe is so good, I long for you to come and see him while he is young, for it is not proper that you should lose all the infancy of all your children. This you understand is our number, but that is altogether in the hands of God.”

Mary Lawrence did not make a journal entry for this date in 1857.

Eliza Williams, [Sat.] October 29th [1859]: “We are now in Port [Hakodadi]. A Japanese Pilot came aboard and we let go the anchor about 7 o’clock in the evening. This morning, the Officials came aboard with their papers, on business, and the Americans Consul and several Gentlemen. My Husband went ashore with them. The Counsel is a jolly Man. He amused the Baby for me while I was getting my Husband ready. I expected to go ashore this afternoon, but it has been raining all the time.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

